Half way through the year – How are your NY Resolutions coming along?!

5 Strict Pull-Ups by the End of Summer!!

Why:  As a personal trainer, I put a lot of my effort into other people and their goals.  I spend time programming towards their goals and making sure they accomplish them!  A little over a year ago, someone asked me to do a pull-up.  I have always kept in shape (lifting, cardio, nutrition) but when I went to do that pull-up; I failed miserably!  Ugh…I was NOT happy.  Honestly, it was defeating.

What I did:  I was frustrated about it for a few weeks until I realized that my frustration was coming from what I hadn’t done!  I wasn’t putting the same effort into ME as I was everyone else!  So, I MADE time for me and I got specific!

Pull-ups are a skill, so you have to practice moves that are specific to a pull-up and you have to be willing to fail at it over and over and over again!

Exercises/Machines that have helped me:

Band Assisted
Band Assisted
Assisted Pull-up machine
Assisted Pull-up machine
Lat Pulldown
Lat Pulldown
Front and Side Raises
Front and Side Raises
Bicep Curls
Bicep Curls
Eccentric Lowering
Eccentric Lowering
Half pull-up Feet on ground (underneath you) - from seated, pull your chest to bar. Thanks Shawn! ;)
Half pull-up: Feet on ground (underneath and slightly away from you) – from seated, pull your chest to bar.
Thanks Shawn! 😉

Where I am NOW:  As of yesterday, I was able to do 1 3/4!!  With my hands a little more than shoulder width apart (palms facing away from me), I got one full pull-up and when it came to the second one, Shawn said my chin was JUST shy of the bar, so I am counting that as 3/4!!  No cheating myself!

I have a few more months of Summer to knock out some more in a row!  I love the feeling of being able to pull your body up to that bar.  Your chin goes over the bar and you feel SO strong and powerful!

That is why I love exercise!  It is ALL up to me.

What are your goals?  Have you shared them with anyone?  Accountability is scary, yet powerful!  If you are fearful that you will fail once you have shared what your goals are…then that is the EXACT reason you should be doing it.  Don’t let fear overcome you!

“You can’t fail if you don’t give up!” – anonymous

Leave a Reply

