Pushups on the Floor, Door and More!!

The Push-up is an AWESOME Upper Body Exercise!!
By performing this simple, yet multi-joint exercise you can work your chest, triceps, biceps, back and shoulder muscles all at one time!
However, when I mention ‘Let’s try a push-up!’…I swear some people think I asked them to repel off the side of a building!
‘Oh no!! I can’t do that! Surely, I’ll faceplant!’
My response…’Good thing your arms are short, so if you faceplant it won’t be a far fall and won’t hurt too bad!’ πŸ™‚ *If you know me well, you know I am joking, yet serious with a little sensitivity on the side. But really, let’s go! πŸ˜‰

I do understand that exercise can be intimidating but my point in the joke is that you really have NO idea what you are capable of unless you TRY!  Working out is all about confidence!  Confidence in your ability to perform and the confidence that you build about yourself as you continue to Try, Fail, Try, Fail, Try 1000x more (if that’s what it takes) and faceplant a few times in between!

My goal through this blog is to help you build your confidence and strength by guiding you every step of the way.  Don’t be afraid to grab a friend or the kids so they can help you with form and feedback!  Be an example!  I hope to be!  If you saw my post from a few days ago, you saw me ‘faceplanting’ while doing a headstand which was suppose to be a handstand pushup.   I can GUARANTEE you, there will be 1000 more faceplants…but I am only looking for 1 perfect handstand pushup right now…my chances get better the more I try! πŸ™‚

***The Push-up (from easier to more difficult)***

*Always remember to make a triangle with your 2 hands and head! (Correct and incorrect ‘triangle position’ for hands and head shown on door example).  Your chest leads and falls between your hands!  Then you know your weight is over your shoulders and you have correct form.  Make sure to keep your body in a straight line.  If you cannot keep this form, back up to an easier version.*

*I practiced 30-50 reps each day until I could do the harder version.  3 sets of 10 or 15 everyday will do the trick.  Consistency is Key!

1.  Door Push-ups
image
*No head between hands*

image
*Hands at chest level*

2. Counter Push-ups
image
*Go through full range of motion (ROM). Bring the chest as close to counter as possible. This is helpful as you continue to try the harder versions*

3. Floor Push-ups on knees
image
*Keep the ear, shoulder, hip and knees in a straight line. Don’t push butt in air*

4.  Floor Push-ups, plank
image
**Chest falls between hands, head is top of triangle**

5. Floor Push-ups, close grip
image
*Keep those elbows tucked in* Burn Triceps, Burn!

6.  Incline Push-ups
image
*The higher the feet, the harder it is*

7.  Ring Push-ups
image

image

Think about GRAVITY and STABILIZING MUSCLES.
You begin by positioning your body more upright, to moving closer to the floor, until you are in an inverted position (feet up), and finally by using rings, you really need to recruit stabilizing muscles which is a whole other feat in itself!!
Get creative, this can all be done at home! πŸ™‚

Thanks to my Husband for always be a patient subject! Two minutes after he walked in from landscaping all day I asked him to do this, hold the pose, oh wait one more pic!! Hehe!
image

bHealthHappy,
Brittany

Leave a Reply

