Homemade Chicken Potpie

I needed a new spin on my chicken dinners!  With my new ‘Veggetti’ and ‘The Spiralizer Cookbook 2.0’ that I received for Xmas – I was able to whip up a classic dish in a healthier version!
…and trust me, if I can make this so can YOU!  I have decided that cooking to me is like fitness to others!  You can’t expect to walk in the gym one time, do a few exercises then go back 3 months later and 1. Expect to be a professional bodybuilder & 2. Remember what you were suppose to do.
Therefore, I committed to making the same few recipes for 2 to 3 weeks at a time!  I won’t get bored with them bc they are  still different than anything I was making before.  I can freeze some of the meals and I know it will keep me on track, so it is WORTH IT!  My intent is to really learn the recipe and when I go to make it a few months down the road I am not so intimated by how hard I THINK IT IS…

Let’s do this:

Ingredients:
1 Small Yellow Onion, peeled and ends trimmed
1 Russet Potato, peeled and ends trimmed
2 Carrots, peeled and ends trimmed
1/2 cup unsalted butter (I used margarine)
1/2 cup plus 1 tbsp all-purpose flour (I used GF flour)
1/4 cup White Wine
3 1/2 cups Chicken Broth (low sodium)
2 ribs Celery, sliced
1/4lb button Mushrooms, brushed clean and sliced thin
t tbsp chopped fresh Thyme
1 tsp chopped fresh Tarragon
1 Bay Leaf
2 lb cubed cooked Chicken
1/2 lb frozen peas
Kosher Salt and freshly Ground Pepper
1 package (1lb) froezen puff pastry, thawed (Pillsbury worked great)

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
    3a4ac43f-a2ca-4db8-b771-753f19727d44.jpg
  2. Cut a slit in one side of the onion and in the potato, stopping near the center.  Spiralize the onion and the potato using the Straight Blade.  Spiralize the carrots using the Fine Shredder Blade, stopping to cut the strands every 3 or 4 rotations.  Set aside.
  3. In a Lg saute pan over medium heat, melt the butter.  Add the flour and cook, stirring constantly, until fragrant, about 2 minutes.  Whisk in the wine.  Slowly add broth, whisking until smooth, and bring to a simmer.  Add the onion, potato, carrots, celery, mushrooms, thyme, tarragon, and bay leaf and cook until the vegetables are almost tender, about 10 minutes.  Add the chicken and peas and season with salt and pepper.  Cook until just heated through, about 5 minutes longer.  Let the filling cook for 20 minutes.2b90c6d1-5a1f-4456-a058-32e7ac3cea12
  4. Meanwhile, roll out the puff pastry (Pillsbury) and cut into 1 inch wide strips.  Then pour the filling into a 2 quart souffle dish or deep baking dish (9×12 worked for us). *You could try a few small dishes as well*  Arrange the puff pastry strips in a lattice pattern over the filling.  Bake until the pastry is golden brown and puffed, 15-20 minutes.  Let cool for 10 minutes before serving.
    d71e18af-dfc8-40e1-868a-6778bc5edfe2.jpgEnjoy!  I added a few modifications that worked for me!  Overall, a great classic meal in a healthier version with lots of fresh veggies!  Even if you don’t have a ‘Veggetti’ to spiralize your vegetables, chopping them up will work great as well!

    bHealthHappy,
    Brittany

Leave a Reply

