Oreos & Milkshakes vs Apples & Oatmeal!!

Yes, I am human too. Yes, I crave junk food!  And I mean CRAVE it bad sometimes!  Well, what do I do about it you ask?!!…

1. Decide:  Is what I am craving something I can eat a little of to satisfy my craving and leave it at that; or is it a ‘potato chip’ effect?  You can’t eat just ONE!!

2.  Act on the decision!!:  Don’t go back and forth for too long.  You’ll end up succumbing to your bad habits!  I either say, ‘Yes, I can have a bite’ (and enjoy it) or ‘No, I know I have better options that I’ll feel better about in the long run!’  And I  refer to my ‘go-to’ list of snacks!

3.  Take 5 minutes:  This 5 minutes is for You.  Remember, I am all about healthy habits!  Think about these 3 things:

1. How did I feel after that snack?  (Energy, guilty, wanted to nap, etc)

2. Could I have prevented this?? (Don’t keep junk in house, didn’t food prep, etc)

3. What is my ultimate goal and am I consistently doing small, daily actions to create the bigger picture?

OREOS & MILKSHAKES vs APPLES & OATMEAL!!

I was talking with someone today who mentioned that they were craving Oreos!! Funny enough, on my way home from work today I absolutely wanted to stop by Zaxbys and get a Birthday Cake milkshake!!! I honestly could eat one of those everyday!!  The only thing that prevented me from that disaster today was the fact that I had done some FOOD PREP!

I knew I’d feel horrible after drinking that, but it is a COMFORT food to me!  I have been working on being ‘comforted’ by my own food, the fact that I dont have to wait in line, I save $$$ and no guilt!

1. NO BAKE ENERGY BITES

img_4011.jpghttp://thriftyfrugalmom.com/recipe-no-bake-energy-bites/

These are awesome! They offer more nutrition than an oreo and with the extra protein, they will satiate your craving while not being as addictive as oreos!

2. Fauxnuts!!

download.jpghttp://www.movenourishbelieve.com/recipes/cronuts-fauxnuts/

I loveeeee these!  You can get creative!  As long as you don’t go overboard with toppings you can easily whip up a fresh, refreshing snack!

*I take NO credit for these recipes.  I simply found them on pinterest and shared how I fit them into my lifestyle.  I added these recipes to my ‘Go-to Snack’ library.  I keep that as part of my arsenal!

**Do you need help with snacks or meals??  I am helping my friends and clients by modifying an otherwise unhealthy meal into a meal that may not make you feel so guilty and you can still enjoy!!  Let’s see what we can come up with!!** Comment below or e-mail me!

bHealthHappy,

Brittany

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

